04
Jan
08

Happy new year =D

Starting off I guess I should say it just for good luck and as a formality.HAPPY NEW YEAR!So I think I have my work cut out for me this year.Got exams exams exams until june so good luck to me(after that FREEDOM).Anyway since I have a little time so I guess I should talk about the manga I have recently read since the winter anime season has barely started.

Yubisaki Milk Tea by tomochika miyano

Genre:Seinen,Romance,Ecchi,Gender bender

Synopsis from Tokyopop:

Through a series of coincidences, Yoshinori wound up having to fill in for his beautiful older sister as a model for a bridal gown. Now, he has discovered that he has a liking for cross-dressing, and that by doing so, he is learning a great deal about what it means to be a woman–and a man.

Status:

Licensed in English,German too as in the picture above.Has 7 published volumes in Japan, 6 in the US.Due to some delays the 8th volume is still in doubt but since its serialised in Hakusensha its up to vol 9 ithink.Vol 7 is coming out on March 11 2008.

Comments by me:

The first volume basically introduces us to the characters and establishes their relationship.It picks up after that with alot of conflicts coming into the picture.So much that you wonder if Yoshinori can keep his sanity.The manga is rated M in the US and I can see why(lolicon).Besides the whole cross dressing bit the story is very realistic and can be pictured as a real life scenario.Of friends growing apart,becoming closer,and getting hurt.The only weakness it well people might get fed up with yoshinori’s inability to choose who he really wants to be with.But hey these things are never easy in reality especially for guys.It would seen volume 6 focuses more on Yuki(yoshinori in disguise) and how she develops.Although I havent read it yet I’m sure its gonna give yoshinori a better idea of what is going on in the heads of the women around him.Somehow the monologues of each characters are able to convey their emotions vividly and you can’t help but pity them(unless a soft kind heart is lacking from the reader) .I would also like to emphasise that this is not shoujo though girls might enjoy it more since it gives them tips on how too deal with guys and well gives interesting “theories” about guys lol.

Comments by other poeple:

“What the author does well above all else is subtlety of expression. By using ambiguity the complexity of the characters’ emotions can be felt. The underlying plot is about the burgeoning love developing between child hood friends, and the turmoil and confusion of adolescent emotions are expressed nicely. Yoshinori’s crossdressing in my opinion seems like a symptom of his indecisiveness and also serves as a way for him to separate platonic love (friendship) and romantic.”–Kasekimizu
(This one basically sums up why this manga is soooo good)

Art:8/10 Easy on the eyes

Plot: 8/10 random/scattered at times but still satisfactory

Character development: 8/10 Pretty good.I can see how the characters came to be as they are well enough.

Enjoyment:8/10 Addicting

Overall: 8/10 a solid read so far and I’ll be eagerly awaiting more volumes.

Off topic:

Okay so I managed to translate some japanese couple of days back and it was painful.Stuff that I knew instantly verbally was a blur in writing  and I couldn’t read as fast as I wanted but I did translate it.Apparently the myth about a few japanese words carrying a ton of meaning might be true.However I did get down the easy phrases without any problem.I have raws now but I think I am gonna look for a more suitable series to do provided the raws are of high quality before I proceed.Yosh~!

0 Responses to “Happy new year =D”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

