17
Feb
08

Claymore anime licensed by Funmation

 

Okay how the hell did I not know about this until now?While I enjoyed the anime adaption which aired last year I was always thinking that this anime was gonna get licensed  sooner or later(hopefully not while it was airing like how Bandai licensed Shigofumi and True tears screw them I’m not buying any of their dvds).Of course I think Funmation is different from Bandai, since their dvds have some standard although inferior to the best fansubs out there.So I think I can rest assured that the series is in good hands.However,I for one am not going to buy the series in the foreseeable future:

1)Its not exactly my kinda anime(didn’t make me feel hyped up enough or moe). 2)Its good in alot of aspects(so are many other titles) but that doesn’t justify spending $160 for the whole set while I do want to buy the manga. 3)It has little re-playability value unlike the classics such as Azumanga. 

“The North American distributor Funimation has announced its license of the Claymore at noon CST today(February 15th). This 26-episode television series adapted Norihiro Yagi‘s fantasy adventure manga about a half-human woman who hunts shape-shifting yōma creatures on a medieval land. It aired in Japan from April to September of last year.

Hiroyuki Tanaka, an animation director on the Vampire Hunter (Night Warriors – Darkstalkers’ Revenge) video series and an assistant director on the Ninja Scroll television series, directed the animators at Madhouse on this project. Yasuko Kobayashi (Shakugan no Shana, Witchblade) supervised the scripts, and Takahiro Umehara (Tenjho Tenge, Beyblade) designed the characters. Viz Mediahas been releasing the original manga in North America, with its 11th volume scheduled for March.”-Source Anime News Network

So will you buy it? 0.o?

3 Responses to “Claymore anime licensed by Funmation”


  1. February 22, 2008 at 8:37 pm

    Most likely, as the DVD price is not $160 like you said. I had no trouble finding it for under $30. I also disagree about the replayability value, as I have seen the series several times, and still enjoy watching it over and over again.

  2. February 22, 2008 at 8:38 pm

    Most likely, as the DVD price is not $160 like you said. I had no trouble finding it for under $30. I also disagree about the replay ability value, as I have seen the series several times, and still enjoy watching it over and over again.

  3. February 23, 2008 at 12:44 am

    No, I meant for the box sets since its cheaper to buy them in bulk.As for the replayability value,for me, once I watch an action anime series I can’t find a way to stay excited when I watch it again unless it was really epic.While I admit that I did watch a few episodes again it was just to clarify some facts that I missed out.

    Sorry that my spam filter blocked your comment.If you don’t see it next time I’ll unblock it manually for you and tell off the developers for being stupid.


Leave a Reply

