24
Feb
08

My-Otome 0~S.ifr~ (OAV) Episode 1

I was interested in what the combination of Sunrise and Mai-Otome could do and I was plesantly surprised at how good it turned out.Being the prequel to the mai-otome main series,I was expecting a good deal of top notch animation for the fight scenes especially.While you could say I was a really big fan of the manga, the anime killed my enthusiasm for the series after they decided to change the plot,main character etc. for reasons until today I still do not know.Thinking back,perhaps I overeacted by completely shunning the anime adaption no matter how inferior I felt it was to the manga.But the prequel really showed me how amazing mai-otome could have been if it was in its original form and with today’s technology.

Pictured above:Rena Sayers 

The series basically features Rena Sayer’s(Akira’s mother) teenage years before she obtained the sky blue sapphire.We also get introduced to the Kingdom of Wind’s King, Burce.

 

@pic:Yes that is supposed to be the King of Windbloom and Rena’s Master.

The hostile relations with Shwartz(an evil organisation who wants to destroy the world with black science) and Windbloom continue.Although,there is a new girl as the main character I still fail to connect with her as I do not know anything significant about her yet.I was also reminded at how ‘shapely’ the otome are like Erisu for instance and you could say akira also has her mother’s gifts.Yet the author chooses to mask this overdose of fan service by hinting that they were somewhat useful in battle(refer to the manga) to my amazement like the spectacular butou battle between akira and Erisu in the manga.

Spectacular fights galore just like how it should be.

This is either a slave or an android(copy-cat of an otome) but I’m not sure since its been a long time since I read mai-otome.

 

New faces everywhere and I just can’t keep up.Anyway I did see the founder of Gauderobe somewhere in there.We also might see some Hime later on if we’re lucky.The manga did mention alot about the Hime in the later chapters along with some really bloody fights. 

Not alot happened in terms of plot but it sure was action packed.As to whether I’ll continue to blog this is up to whether it lives up to what I expect.I vaguely remember something about akira being the heir to Windbloom(if I am not mistaken) so I would guess some romance is in order.All in all I guess I will continue watching and I would recommend it to all mai-otome fans out there.

3 Responses to “My-Otome 0~S.ifr~ (OAV) Episode 1”


  1. 1 find0us
    March 10, 2008 at 6:36 pm

    hi there!
    I watched the first OVA as well and I really like Rena. The other girl you mentioned is S.ifr, Nina Wang’s mum. That’s what I read. I just hope the next one comes out soon =)
    Can’t wait!!! >.<

    find0us

  2. March 11, 2008 at 4:54 am

    Well I might have missed out the Nina Wang part but if its true then its getting all the more interesting (^.^)


Leave a Reply

