18
May
08

My Picks:Fav Anime this Spring

So we’re a good distance into the spring anime season so far and instead of writing about Soul Eater episode 6 I’m going to talk about the anime I liked so far this season.

1.Code Geass R2

While the seasoned veterans call this by its cooler sounding name “Gayass” I’ll just stick to the standard one for now.Fangirls are reportedly pissed that more male fanservice is introduced this time around instead of scenes of Lelouch doing strip tease in front of the camera.For me I,always make it a point to watch this for some reason.I think its more out of curiosity than my actual love for the series itself in essence.But I can’t deny its pretty damn good so far.

2.Soul Eater

This show is the shit!! So far its got no plot but everything about it screams genius besides that.T.M Revolution,made me decide to follow this show the second his voice echoed out of my speakers.Wonderful animation,fanservice is stubble but effective,great characters and superb fight sequences.In other words its the total opposite of Gayass.Its GAR!!

3.Itazura na Kiss

Every year we see a good shoujo come out.Last year was Lovecom,and this year’s winner is “Mischievous Kiss” as its translated.To tell the truth,I watched shoujo and shounen together ever since my childhood.So these 1990’s style anime really brings back memories.I thought the new generation of mangaka could never again draw like the masters of old.I was right.Its an adaption of a popular shoujo manga which was never finished.Kaoru Tada (T.T)May she rest in peace.What can I say, I feel young again every time I watch this and I can’t describe the mixture of elation,melancholy and excitement I feel.I did expect most of the newer anime fans to dislike the drawing style though,I guess you can’t appreciate that you’re not used to.

4.Kure-nai

Like many of the old farts back at ANN,I too find this intriguing.No,I’m not an old fart btw.The initial presence of a loli spurred my interest and I can say I’ve never seen a series that could keep me engrossed for the whole episode every single time.The OP is enough to cause a few autism casualties,the swirling colors are really hypnotizing in a way.And the ED was my fav this season.I think its the witty and engaging conversations between the characters which make it sparkle with that aura of allure.

5.Wagaya no Oinari-sama

Yea I’m being biased, I know tons of people would disagree with this choice but I don’t really give a shit.I just love fox girls.First it was maid girls,then maid girls wearing cat ears,then fox girls.What a roller coaster ride of fetishes we have here in this world of otakudom.Its been a while since a love for a single character could swing me to deny the existence of the anime’s flaws.But yes, in my eyes, I thought it was great.

Some of you may wonder where is Macross Frontier,Vampire Knight,the ecchi animes etc.

1.Mecha,me no likey,but gundam and Geass were exceptional, so I might give it a try…later

2.Vampire Knight,I forgot to watch it one day and never did again.I know… WUT?

3.Ecchi is like crack to me so I don’t think its possible to judge things when I’m high.

11 Responses to “My Picks:Fav Anime this Spring”


  1. 1 jpzer0
    May 18, 2008 at 12:39 pm

    Soul Eater above Kure-nai?

    FAIL!!!!!

  2. May 18, 2008 at 1:15 pm

    @jpzero

    Well,I did write this on the basis of all the currently aired episodes.So, Kure-nai could be better than Soul Eater next week.Who knows?But for today,I think these 5 were the ones that I liked best excluding the ecchi ones that is.

  3. 3 Endz
    May 18, 2008 at 2:39 pm

    You should try Nijuu-mensou Musume. Its one of the rare anime that focuses more on the story than anything else.

  4. May 18, 2008 at 2:57 pm

    Foxes ftw! hehe

    You should check out Kaiba 🙂 Don’t let the style deceive you, the show is definitely not for children.

  5. May 19, 2008 at 1:04 am

    Okay I’ll check out Nijuu Musume then =P but as for Kaiba…I did watch a bit but never kept up with it enough due to the lack of free time though.My friends have been nagging me about it though >.> I’ll try to make time for it.

  6. 6 ryolastangel
    May 23, 2008 at 4:01 pm

    even though im watching a couple more than this, this is pretty much exactly the same order i had. nice job with geass 1, soul eater 2, i completely agree. and yeah, recently kurenai has been lackluster for me… itazura has been pretty fun even though naoki’s a bastard…. and wagaya, need i say moar..

  7. May 24, 2008 at 1:30 am

    Glad to know someone agrees with the list =) I am watching around 10+ shows though since I’ll never know when 1 of them will get good.

  8. May 27, 2008 at 10:57 am

    I only watched the first two and a bit of Kurenai. Yup, that’s about it.

  9. June 3, 2008 at 3:13 pm

    Midyear says : I absolutely agree with this !

  10. July 31, 2013 at 12:46 pm

    Excellent beat ! I would like to apprentice while you amend
    your site, how can i subscribe for a blog website?
    The account aided me a acceptable deal. I had been tiny bit acquainted of
    this your broadcast provided bright clear idea


Leave a Reply

