07
Jul
08

Birdy the Mighty ~Decode~ 1: First Looks

ImageHost.org

Personally,I didn’t take the news that Birdy the Mighty was getting an anime seriously enough.Mainly because of the fact that rumours were circulating that the anime was going to have a warped storyline from the original manga version.Luckily,the rumors were just bullshit.The manga was…not the best I’ve seen but it had some good art and action scenes.

ImageHost.org

Episode 1 basically covered chapter 1 pretty well while adding some fanservice to the story and some much needed background info.Birdy is a Federation investigator and the earth is currently harboring a dangerous criminal.

ImageHost.org

The earth itself is a alien scum filled metropolis where aliens assimilate into the human lifestyle.Birdy takes up a job as a model together with her retarded robot friend,whatever he is.They were secretly trying to fish out Geega,a scary alien =.=.

ImageHost.org

He looked more menacing in the manga though.Anyway some kid got messed up in the process of the big Geega X Birdy battle and was split in half.He wakes up thinking it was a dream but starts hearing voices in his head thereafter.In the end he becomes Birdy.

ImageHost.org

SPOLIERS!!!

After watching it,I’m glad they stuck to the original plot.Is interesting to see how the kid and Birdy are going to adapt thereafter,since I didn’t get very far in reading the manga since not much of it was available anyway.What I did know was that in short,Birdy and the kid are one being but with separate personalities.Birdy actually integrated the kid’s DNA into her own and gave him half her lifespan.Apparently killing useless humans is a crime punishable by death or decommissioning(I forgot which one).Either way,that part of the manga was boring
as hell since I’m no sci-fi nerd.

SPOILERS OVER

ImageHost.org

So overall,the animation was awesome,they manipulated the story introduction to perfection,and the fanservice is a nice side dish to savor as well.I look forward to seeing more.Sadly,Ive gotten a job as like a normal human which ends my 1 month streak as a NEET aka useless bum.I’m gonna be an elementary school teacher…yay me T.T.Its only for a month or so but this would surely hamper my target to catch up on the 200 episodes of one piece I put off watching.

5 Responses to “Birdy the Mighty ~Decode~ 1: First Looks”


  1. July 8, 2008 at 2:17 pm

    Every show is becoming fanservice galore …

  2. 2 rroknedaj
    July 8, 2008 at 3:09 pm

    Hmm, the fanservice wasn’t too obvious though. I definitely felt it was taking the backstage throughout the story

  3. July 10, 2008 at 6:24 am

    @blissmo
    Not really,just the ones I watch XP

    @rroknedaj
    I know that’s the beauty of it.ITs not the ammount that I care about.Its the overall effect.To me it didn’t get in the way of the story and managed to add to the enjoyment.Quality over quantity.

  4. 4 gravion17
    August 13, 2008 at 4:03 am

    When I found out they remade this series, I was highly skeptical they could make it as good as the original. I never read the Manga and it has been a while since I’ve seen the original but I was pleasantly surprised at how well this came out! I just hope that it doesn’t taper off as the series continues.

  5. June 13, 2009 at 8:21 am

    Hmm, the fanservice wasn’t too obvious though. I definitely felt it was taking the backstage throughout the story perfekt


Leave a Reply

