10
Jul
08

Mahou Tsukai ni Taisetsu na Koto:Natsu no Sora – 01


The longest name I’ve heard in a while for an anime.Basically it means,”The magical messenger’s important words:Sora’s summer”.I’m not 100% sure but that was what I thought it meant.There’s only so much one can do to mask the boring aura this show exudes.While being taken aback by the stunning CGI,I was left to ponder at the end of the episode, the most important question.Did I enjoy it?I would like to say “HELL NO!!” but I would have been lying to myself.I didn’t hate it,but I wasn’t my cup of tea.The fact that the animation is so lifelike puts a question mark on whether they forgot to put any life into the story.The fact that everybody can casually say that “Oh you’re studying magic in Tokyo?” without raising an eyebrow is as perplexing as to why the story is so laid back.

“A girl from rural Hokkaido,is preparing to go to Tokyo to start her magic training…”

That can easily summarize most of the episode.The rest was a filler about the girl helping her classmate get a boyfriend,who looks like a douche.So,I’d recommend watching this if you like computer generated landscapes and if you’re patient enough to watch.OOOO and lets not forget that Thyme is singing the OP.I’ve fallen in love with her singing since her debut single “Forever we can make it” for To Love-Ru.

5 Responses to “Mahou Tsukai ni Taisetsu na Koto:Natsu no Sora – 01”


  1. July 10, 2008 at 8:49 am

    Actually the title means “Things that are important to a mage: summer sky”. Long title still long, but I prefer the (unofficial) English version (Someday’s Dreamers ~ The Summer Sky) or just plain Natsu no Sora.

    I recall I also felt the same way in the first anime, a bit boring at first. Hopefully it picks up the pace, but I’m enjoying the visuals for now.

  2. July 10, 2008 at 3:03 pm

    Sora or sky is also the name of the main character so I assumed it referred to the girl =/ And I certainly can’t make out any reference to a mage(majou?is it?),but if you say “mahou tsukai” or “magical messenger” is the mage then maybe.I guess I just translate japanese too literally for my own good.

  3. July 12, 2008 at 3:23 am

    But, but it’s so good! D:

    Yeah, Strike Witches isn’t my cup of tea either

  4. 4 rroknedaj
    July 13, 2008 at 3:14 pm

    That song was just too awesome for words.

  5. 5 gravion17
    August 13, 2008 at 3:56 am

    HAHAHAHAAAAAA……I just found this blog by sheer chance! I agree with EVERY thing you’ve said about this series. I wanted to stop watching it half way through the 1st episode, but I stuck with it and I am glad I did! the fusion of the live action looking background coupled with the animation was like sweet candy to my eyes. The sound track is not my usual cup of tea BUT there is some thing about it that kept pulling at me. I just finished watching the 5th episode and I’m craving the next one like a crack head.


Leave a Reply

